One Two


Chairman of examination committee:


Prof. Dr. Arne Lützen
Room 1.093
Kekulé Institute of Organic Chemistry und Biochemistry
Gerhard-Domagk-Str. 1
D-53121 Bonn


Tel.: +49 (0)228 73-7533
Fax: +49 (0)228 73-9608



Examination office:


Monika Klein
Room 0.104
Gerhard-Domagk-Str. 1
D-53121 Bonn


Tel.: +49 (0)228 73-5360
Fax: +49 (0)228 73-5697


Opening hours: Mo: 9.00-12.00 h
                          Di-Fr: 8.30-12.00 h

You are here: Home Studies & Teaching Master programme Time Line

Time Line


The M.Sc. programme comprises 4 semesters (120 credit points) and is taught completely in English. The programme is organised in a consecutive manner meaning that all students who have gained all the credit points will obtain a Master of Science degree in Chemistry from the Faculty of Maths and Science of the University of Bonn. The overall grade of the M.Sc. degree will then be calculated as the weighted average of the all the marks received for the successfully finished modules and the master thesis


1st Semester

All students will have the same courses in the first semester. It comprises 4 mandatory modules in Inorganic, Organic, Physical, and Theoretical Chemistry.

2nd and 3rd Semester

In the second and third semester the students have to choose 5 out of 12 optional modules (10 credit points each). In addition they have to choose a practical course (10 credit points) to deepen their practical and theoretical skills in a subject they want to focus on. Usually, this course is meant as a kind of preparation for the following work on the Master thesis.

4th Semester

The fourth semester is completely reserved to work on the Master thesis (30 credit points).

Time Line (scheme)

Document Actions